Iowa Women's Hall of Fame

Viola Gibson

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame

Not enough people are aware of the extent of Women's contributions to society, whether past or present. To highlight Women's heritage and recognize their contributions, the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW) established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1975. Each year the ICSW and the Governor welcome four women into the Hall of Fame, paying tribute to them and setting them forth as role models for others.

2016 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

  • Grace Amemiya (Ames)—Nurse, Advocate for Peace and Justice
  • Angela Connolly (Des Moines)—Polk County Supervisor, Central Iowa Leader
  • Dr. Michele Devlin (Cedar Falls)—Professor, Public Health Advocate
  • Viola Gibson (Formerly of Cedar Rapids; deceased)—Iowa Civil Rights and Community Leader; minister

The ICSW established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1975 to highlight women's heritage and recognize their important contributions to society.  As of 2016, 168 women will have been inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame.

Here are some additional links about our namesake, Viola Gibson:​-20160812

You can also learn more about Viola Gibson on our own webpage:


Back to news